• Postman Story
  • Postal Equipments
  • 2021 Stamps
Postal Business: 8610 11185
Postal Savings: 8610 95580
Logistics and EMS: 8610 11183
China Post Life: 8610 4008909999
Modern Chinese Scientists (Series 8)
Supporting Information   
Stamp Title: Modern Chinese Scientists (Series 8)
Serial Number: 2020-20
Piece in Set: 4
Denomination: 4.8 yuan
Date of Issue: 2020-09-19
Designer: Li Chen
Size of Stamp: 50mm×30mm
Perforation: 13
Sheet Composition: 12 pieces
Printer: Henan Posts & Telecom Printing House
Printing Technology: Offset intaglio

China Post is to issue a set of 4 commemorative stamps Modern Chinese Scientists (Series 8) on September 19, 2020. The designs of the stamps are respectively entitled: Wang Daheng, Huang Kun, Yu Min, Chen Jingrun. The denomination of this set of stamps is 4.80 yuan. The planned circulation is 6.95 million sets.

Wang Daheng was an applied opticist and one of the founders of applied optical science and technology in China. He made outstanding contributions to the development of various large optical observation equipment for the modernization of national defense, and played an important role in China’s optical engineering and metrology.

Huang Kun was a solid-state physicist and semiconductor physicist. Huang had conducted research mainly in solid-state physics theory and semiconductor physics, and was one of the pioneers in semiconductor physics in China.

Yu Min was a nuclear physicist, who had solved a series of fundamental problems for the breakthrough of China's hydrogen bomb research. Leading the theoretical research and design of nuclear weapons for a long time, Yu made crucial contributions to enabling China's nuclear weapons to be further developed to the advanced level of the world.

Chen Jingrun was a mathematician. He had been mainly engaged in the research of analytic number theory, and had made world-leading achievements in the research of Goldbach Conjecture. In May 1966, Chen succeeded in proving the proposition "1 + 2", which is known internationally as Chen's theorem.

This set of stamps vividly and meticulously portrays the classic images of four modern scientists through realistic techniques. The backgrounds of the designs reflect their research directions and achievements. The first background shows the 150 large cinetheodolite developed by Changchun Institute of Optics, Fine Mechanics and Physics. The second one shows the conceptual diagram on the cover of the textbook Solid-state Physics written by Huang Kun and “Huang Equation”. The third depicts the picture of the successful test of China's first hydrogen bomb. The fourth displays the key research achievements made by Chen Jingrun in the process of proving Goldbach Conjecture.

The stamps are designed by Li Chen and printed by Henan Posts and Telecommunications Printing House with the technology of offset and engraving overprinting.

Register number: 京ICP备15035540号 京公网安备110401400185号
Powered by CHINA POST | About Us | Sitemap | Contact Us |